Nebraska Library Association Elections

NLA is now seeking nominations for several elected positions. At the NLA Board level, we are seeking candidates for:

  • Vice-President/President-Elect: This is a 3-year commitment (President-Elect, President, Past President) with an estimated average workload of 4-6 hours per month, especially during conference planning season. For the 2021 year, the position’s responsibilities will be:
    • Attend NLA Board meetings and events, filling the role of President when the current President is unavailable
    • Chair the Professional Development Committee, serving as Program Chair on the 2021 NLA Conference Committee
    • Serve on the NLA Executive Committee
    • Attend the Chapter Leaders Forum at either the 2021 ALA Midwinter or the 2021 ALA Annual conference
  • Secretary: This is a 2-year commitment with an estimated average workload of 3-5 hours per month, especially in the Fall. For the 2021 year, the position’s responsibilities will be:
    • Keep the minutes of general meetings of the Association, the Board of Directors meetings and Executive Committee meetings
    • Provide draft and approved versions of NLA Board and Annual meeting minutes to Executive Director so they can be posted on the NLA web site
    • Serve on the NLA Executive Committee
  • ALA Councilor: This is a 3-year commitment with an estimated 6-8 hours per month.  For the 2021 year, the position's responsibilities will be:
    • Represent the NLA at meetings of the American Library Association
    • Submit an annual report to the NLA concerning current library activities at the national level
    • Shall be a member in good standing of the ALA

There are also several offices open in our Sections and Round Tables.
Please contact Group leadership for more information on open elected positions and their responsibilities.


Any active member of NLA is eligible to run for Vice-President/President-Elect, Secretary or ALA Councilor. Any active member of both NLA and a Group may run for office within that Group. Please note that membership must be active on July 1, 2020 to be eligible to run.


Click here to submit your application.

Voting will open Tuesday, September 1 and close Tuesday, September 15, 2020. 

All NLA members may vote for the NLA Board Level positions. 

Only members of the respective round tables and sections may vote on the offices for those round tables and sections.


  • July 13 - August 28: Nominations accepted and posted on the web site
  • September 1 - September 15: Voting period
  • Results will be announced no later than September 30, 2020: newly elected officers will begin their term on January 1, 2021