Advocacy Committee

The NLA Advocacy Committee provides opportunities for advocates to increase public awareness of the value of libraries and the library profession and plays a key role in formulating policies and standards that affect library service in the state. Advocacy is a daily opportunity for every library supporter, starting locally and reaching across the nation. By our annual Advocacy Day in Lincoln, you will be ready to effectively inform our state Senators of library-related issues and best solutions.

Our committee maintains a powerful tool for you to use when engaging with elected leaders about important library issues.  Please check in with our Engage Page often and be ready to take action as needed by our Association.

2021 Members


Deb Robertson (Chair)

Kilgore Memorial Library

[email protected]

Term Expiration: December 2021


Scott Childers

Special Library


Melissa Kebaili

Ponca Carnegie Library


Matthew Kovar

Sump Memorial Library/Papillion Public Library


Elaine Lake

Oshkosh Public Library


Lori Porter

Madison Public Library


Tammi Thiem

Special Library


Megan Tomasiewicz

Lied Tekamah Public Library


Laura England Biggs (ex oficio)

NLA President

Nonvoting Member


Ginger Jelinek (ex oficio)

NLA Executive Director

Nonvoting Member