Nominations are now open for the PLTS Excalibur Award and the PLTS Advocacy Award.  This is your opportunity to allow the entire Nebraska library community know about the special people you have had the privilege to work with over the years.

The nomination information is available at:

The deadline for submitting all materials is September 5.  The letters of nomination and any supporting documentation you choose to attach can be sent to:
Scott Childers
Southeast Library System
5730 R St, Suite C1
Lincoln, NE 68508

or electronically to:

The deadline for the ALA Emerging Leaders Program is only a couple weeks away ....

Are you looking to become more involved in ALA? The Nebraska Library Association sponsors one participant per year for the ALA Emerging Leaders Program to attend ALA Midwinter and ALA Annual ($500 per conference).  The program “is a leadership development program which enables newer library workers from across the country to participate in problem-solving work groups, network with peers, gain an inside look into ALA structure, and have an opportunity to serve the profession in a leadership capacity. It puts participants on the fast track to ALA committee volunteerism as well as other professional library-related organizations” (ALA Emerging Leaders home page).

More information on the program, selection criteria, and how to apply is available at the ALA Emerging Leaders websiteDeadline for submission of the application and all references is August 1, 2014.

If you have any questions, please contact Corinne Jacox.

Corinne Jacox
Catalog/Reference Librarian, NLA Scholarship & Awards Committee Chair
Creighton University Law Library
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178

This year, NLA’s Technical Services Round Table introduces its first award, the Sandra Herzinger Award for Technical Services Advocacy, named in honor of the founder of TSRT.

The Sandra Herzinger Award will be given to a Nebraska library worker who has been an advocate for technical services. It will be presented at the NLA/NSLA annual conference in October.

Each nominee for the TSRT Technical Services Advocacy award must:

  • be employed in a technical services position in a Nebraska library (According to the TSRT statement of purpose, technical services includes: acquisitions, collection development, cataloging and classification, preservation, serials control, interlibrary loan and document delivery.)
  • be an active and involved employee of his/her library, as well as an active and involved member of the Nebraska library community
  • have a proven record of demonstrating the value of technical services, both to colleagues within the library community and to library patrons

Nomination Process:

The letter of nomination should include contact information for the nominee (name, position title, address, email address, and telephone number), the nominee's accomplishments, particularly as they relate to the award criteria given above, and any relevant supporting documentation. The letter should also include the name, position title, address, email address, and telephone number of the person or group making the nomination.

Also required are at least two additional letters which support and endorse the nominations. Such letters may provide further information about the nominee.

Nominations and letters of support must be received by August 31 and should be sent to TSRT Chair Heather Buckwalter (

Information about the award can be found on the TSRT website at

Do you know someone who is just starting out in their library career but is already making waves?  Or maybe you know a library veteran who is always there to help you out and give advice.  The New Members Round Table is now accepting nominations for the 2014 Houchen Bindery Beginning Professional Award and the 2014 Houchen Bindery Mentor of the Year Award, so make sure those awesome individuals are being recognized for all that they do.  Also be sure to check out the list of past winners on our Awards page.

Houchen Bindery Beginning Professional Award

The Houchen Bindery Beginning Professional Award is a cash prize sponsored by Houchen Bindery LTD. It is awarded to a beginning librarian or media specialist who has made significant contributions to library and/or media services in the early stages of his/her career. If you know a new professional who has: created innovative programs or services which improved library service in Nebraska, made exceptional use of local, state, or national library resources including special grants, made significant contributions toward the betterment of library and community relations, and been active in professional library organizations on a local, state or national level, then nominate that person for the Houchen Bindery Beginning Professional Award.

Houchen Bindery Mentor of the Year Award

The Houchen Bindery Mentor of the Year Award goes to an individual who has aided significantly in the professional development of librarians, media specialists or library staff, and, by example, has influenced their careers. Thanks to the generosity of the Houchen Bindery, the award also comes with a $150 cash prize as of 2007. If you know someone who has: had extraordinary influence on the professional development of one or more junior staff members, encouraged involvement of staff in professional endeavors, provided strong leadership, and set a good example of professional involvement, then you know someone who deserves the Mentor of the Year Award.

Houchen Bindery Mentor of the Year Award
Houchen Bindery Beginning Professional Award

Nominations must be received by September 1, 2014.

Please download the PDF, fill it out, save it, and email it along with supporting documentation to:

Dana Schipporeit
NMRT Awards Chair

Need a ride to conference this year? Got an extra seat or two in your car and wouldn't mind picking someone up?  Sign up at and let others know.

Enter where you will be leaving from and whatever details you deem appropriate, like if you'll pitch in for gas, need to be there at a certain time, or luggage limitations. Your request or offer will then be placed on a map so you can see who else is going your way.